Posted in book review, books

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley (Book Review)

Last night I (finally) finished reading The Watchmaker of Filigree Street. I don’t know if it’s because I just don’t read as quickly on a Kindle as I do with paper books or if it was just this book, but it took me a while to finish it. Although to be fair, I’ve been reading other books at the same time. Even considering that, during parts of the book, I was just wanting to be done with it. If I hadn’t started this blog for book reviewing, I might have stopped reading it, with the intention of trying to get into it again some day. It’s not a bad book, but it wasn’t great either.

I don’t really do summaries of books in reviews so much as I just blog my overall impressions. It’s historical fiction with a lot of promise, but it fell a little flat. The book had three main characters and one of them was more main than the other two. The book started with a focus on one gentleman in London who mysteriously finds a watch in his rented room. Then we are introduced to woman in Oxford who also has a nice watch, although her’s was a gift. The third character, and definitely the most interesting, is the watchmaker.

There’s romance, though it’s not a big part of the book. Hints of romance are somewhat bigger. There’s plenty of mystery, though, and that’s probably one of the main reasons (other than this blog) that kept me reading the book when I really just wanted to be done with it. There’s also some adventure and surprises. The ending was not what I expected at all, but I think it ended well. Sorry if I’m so vague, but I’m very anti-spoilers and with mystery being such a big part of the book, I can’t say much about it without giving stuff away. But I will say that if you have more patience than me for a book that seems to be quick moving and then so very slow for too many chapters and then lots of action at the end, this is the book for you. It’s not a bad book and it’s bones are good, but it ended up just being okay for me.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

2 thoughts on “The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley (Book Review)

  1. Do you feel like it had enough good character development to recommend? I think I could read a slow moving book as long as the character development is there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

