Posted in book review, books

The Children’s Crusade by Ann Packer (Book Review)

Today’s book is The Children’s Crusade by Ann Packer. It’s a family saga that spans about about 50 years, beginning in the 1950s, in Northern California. It begins with Bill Blair, who is a Korean war vet that becomes a pediatrician. We then meet his wife and kids. It’s the kind of book that I’m drawn to because while I do like action, sci-fi, and mystery, I also very much am interested in people’s stories. I like to eavesdrop and people watch, making this a perfect book for that sort of thing (without violating anyone’s privacy). I could easily see this book made into a film, especially an indie film.

It was a decent book. It had a nice pace, with chapters alternating between flashback chapters of the kids growing up and ones focusing more on one child in 2006. The characters are well developed for the most part, though I was a little frustrated with how one of the characters was developed. I suppose that’s good if I like the characters and story enough to get frustrated. I wasn’t wowed, but books don’t have to wow in order to be good. This book was good in an elegant or quiet way, if that makes sense.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

