Posted in book review, books

Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal

My latest book read is Kitchens of the Great Midwest. It’s a good book where food plays an important role. Each chapter is titled with a food (except for the last chapter) and there are several recipes in the book. I think that adds charm. Don’t expect it to be all about food, though. It plays a role, but people’s stories play an even bigger one. One thing that I wasn’t expecting, and it might influence your level of enjoyment with the book, is that it’s not like a standard novel. It’s more like a collection of connected short stories, with each chapter having a different narrator. It didn’t cause trouble for me in keeping track of characters or stories, though. I was never overwhelmed by the number of narrators. I think that was handled well. But I would have preferred the book to have less narrators and a stronger focus on the main character who connects the stories. However, while this was not my preferred style, I still enjoyed the book and not in spite of the style chosen. So, even if short stories and multiple narrators aren’t your thing, I think this is a good book that I’d recommend giving a chance.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

