Posted in book review, books

The Girls from See Saw Lane by Sandy Taylor

I just finished The Girls from See Saw Lane and I loved it. It takes place in Brighton, England in the 1960s. When I first read the description, I thought of the tv show Call the Midwife. That show and the promise of a story of female friendship made this a very attractive book. I wasn’t let down. The writing and story were good (and unlike many books I’ve read lately, it only got stronger as the book went on). I laughed, I cried. This book really makes you feel for the characters and those characters are well developed. It was a very enjoyable read, but don’t be like me and assume this is a light, fluffy, beach read. It’s got beautiful depth and I liked the book from start to finish. I highly recommend it and right now it’s $.99 as an ebook on Amazon (though I’m guessing just for December 2015).  There is a sequel coming out in the spring of 2016 and I’ll be reading that book for sure.

(Thanks go to NetGalley and Bookouture for the review copy, which in no way influenced this review.)

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

