Posted in book review, books

Review of Books Read in 2015

I read about 30 books this year. It’s not many, but I’m generally a slow reader. I’ve seen articles that share tips on how to become a faster reader, but I’m not interested in just getting through books. I want to enjoy them along the way. Some of the books were read before I began this blog and they won’t be reviewed other than very briefly here.

Three books I did not finish and have no intention of ever picking up again in the future: Balm by Dolen Perkins-Valdez, Vivian Apple Needs a Miracle by Katie Coyle, and After Birth by Elisa Albert.

Other than those three books, this was a pretty good reading year for me. Early in the year I read a fantastic book that I highly recommend and could not shut up about when I finished it: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Seriously, if you have not read this book, buy it or get it from your library. It’s so good. This is the best book I read this year. The runner up is Dietland by Sarai Walker. This book was amazing. The story was literally life changing. It is so fiercely empowering. I wish I had been able to read this book when I was a teenager. Buy this book, too. You must.

As I said, this has been a good reading year for me and there are more books that I highly recommend: Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert, Enchanted Inc. and the other books in that series by Shanna Swendson, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, The Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows, 11/22/63 by Stephen King, Vivian Apple at the End of the World by Katie Coyle and The Girls from See Saw Lane by Sandy Taylor.

Other books I read were good reads, but not great. I recommend them, but not as highly as the ones in the previous two paragraphs: Worn Stories by Emily Spivack, Attachments by Rainbow Rowell, Ana of California by Andi Teran, The Beautiful Bureaucrat by Helen Phillips, Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson, The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley, The Children’s Crusade by Ann Packer, Yes Please by Amy Poehler and  Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal.

 

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

