Posted in book review, books

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

I recently read Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout and it is just as good as I’ve heard. It’s gotten awards and deserves all of them. I wouldn’t say it’s the best book I’ve ever read and it’s not a style that I generally enjoy, but she’s such a talented writer that I feel really satisfied after reading her books (this one and her latest, My Name is Lucy Barton). The style is a collection of short stories put together as a novel.

And it’s clearly a collection of short stories in the first few stories or chapters. But as the book goes on, it seems to gel more. And it began to feel more like the novel was just separated nicely into chapters that just happened to be previously released (some of them) short stories. So, I think you will like it regardless of if you prefer short stories or not. My favorite stories or chapters were the ones that Olive was strongly included. She’s a great character, not perfect by any stretch but very human and real.

A reminder that I usually don’t do summaries in my reviews. Here’s a link to Goodreads if you want that: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1736739.Olive_Kitteridge

 

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

