Posted in book review, books, Uncategorized

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson

Last night I finished reading Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson. It’s the first alternate history novel that I’ve read. It’s an adventure (with a little romance) story of what it would be like if there was no (successful) revolution in 1776 and the British were still in charge of the American colonies. Oh, and the British retain their power by being part of a special class of people who biologically have magical powers. This leads to a group of people (the Rebel Mechanics) who you use machines to fight a new revolution a hundred years later.

I liked this book. It was a quick and fun read. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about an alternate history novel, but it was interesting and the characters were well done. I’m not sure if I would have read it, except that it was by the same author who wrote the Enchanted, Inc. series and I liked those books a lot. I’m glad I did give it a chance because it was good and I look forward to reading the next book in the series, whenever it’s published.

 

 

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

