Posted in book review, books

The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag

Yesterday I finished reading The House at the End of Hope Street. I thought this would be a light hearted and fun book. The description on the book tells of a house that shows up for women in need of hope. The main character’s name is Alba and she has some magical senses. I was really looking forward to this book. However, the book has story lines for two housemates of Alba and it dragged the book down. The housemates seemed caricatures and not fully formed interesting people.

Alba was interesting. Her story was interesting. If the book had been solely focused on her, I would have been happy with it. Though there is a part of her story that feels like it was ignored and then toward the end rushed together. I would have also been happy if the story had been focused either solely or just along with Alba’s that of Peggy, the house mother. Peggy was an interesting character and her story actually wasn’t badly done.

There are magical parts of the book that I like. And I did like Alba and Peggy’s stories enough that I stuck with the book until the end. But the ending felt rushed and unsatisfying. The book was disappointing, partly because you could see how the book could have been much better.

 

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

