Posted in book review, books

Witches of Lychford by Paul Cornell

Last night I finished reading Witches of Lychford by Paul Cornell. I loved this book. It’s short, at only 144 pages. I’m finding that I’m really liking shorter books lately and longer novels often seem in need of editing that would remove about 100 unnecessary pages. It’s a book about magic and supernatural creatures and women in England. And it’s the first in a series. I’m not sure how long the series is supposed to be, though the second book is due fall of 2016 according to Goodreads. I already have the 2nd book on my Goodreads TBR and will read it as soon as it’s released.

One fun thing about the book is that it’s written like a tv show. You could easily imagine all of the book on screen. So, I wasn’t surprised to read in the author part that Paul Cornell has written for tv before. Maybe this series will be made into a tv show. I’d watch it.

The only annoying thing about the book is that you’re more than half-way through before it’s revealed that one of the main characters is black (Autumn). It’s revealed in a casual manner, so it’s not a spoiler. It’s as if the (white male) author was like “Race isn’t important, but by the way she’s black.” Race is important. Representation matters. And that’s why I’m revealing it here. I still recommend the book because otherwise it’s great.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

