Posted in book review, books, Uncategorized

The Lost Child of Lychford by Paul Cornell

My latest book read is Lost Child of Lychford by Paul Cornell. Here’s the description given on Goodreads:

It’s December in the English village of Lychford – the first Christmas since an evil conglomerate tried to force open the borders between our world and… another.

Which means it’s Lizzie’s first Christmas as Reverend of St. Martin’s. Which means more stress, more expectation, more scrutiny by the congregation. Which means… well, business as usual, really.

Until the apparition of a small boy finds its way to Lizzie in the church. Is he a ghost? A vision? Something else? Whatever the truth, our trio of witches (they don’t approve of “coven”) are about to face their toughest battle, yet!

The Lost Child of Lychford is the second book in a series. The first book is Witches of Lychford. I enjoyed the first book very much and recommend reading it. The second book is not as good. I was halfway through before it seemed truly interesting. It’s a novella, though, so it wasn’t a huge number of pages before I was halfway through. I give this book a solid 3 stars. On it’s own, I probably would have thought it was fine, but just nothing special, but given how much I liked the first book, I’m disappointed after reading Lost Child of Lychford. However, it did definitely pick up towards the end of the book and I liked the first book so much that I’d read a third book in the series, if there is to be one. And I’m guessing this series is at least a trilogy, if not ending up being even longer.

(I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)

 

 

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

