Posted in book review, books, diverse books, historical fiction

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

I read Another Brooklyn immediately following Upstream by Mary Oliver. That was an accidentally wise choice. Mary Oliver is a poet, so Upstream essays felt lyrical. Well, Another Brooklyn was written in a similar sort of dreamy style, though it’s a novel and not an essay collection. It’s basically a book of someone reflecting on the past. That past involves a mother and a group of friends and Brooklyn. It’s a short novel and I just flew through it. It’s the kind of novel that I particularly enjoy: it’s historical fiction, the MC is a girl, and it is well written in dealing with what it’s like for a girl growing into a woman. I gave it a solid 4 stars on Goodreads and recommend reading it.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

4 thoughts on “Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

    1. Yeah, I’ve heard a lot of good about her, too, which is what led me to reading Another Brooklyn in the first place. I haven’t read any of her other work, but I was not disappointed with the buzz about her and this book in particular.

      Like

Leave a Reply

