Posted in 3 things

3 Things

1

I almost forgot to do the 3 things post this week. It’s been a stressful week with the elections. And yesterday my husband got home from a business trip. So, we’ve been a little busy. This year feels like such a wild one for many reasons.

2

This year I’ve been trying to be an activist consumer, as a book buyer. I’ve started using trips out of town as excuses to visit independent bookstores and purchase at least one book, if possible. And most of my book purchases have been diverse books. The problem is that I don’t tend to read the books that I buy. There’s no due date and I think I need that as a motivation sometimes. I see books at the library that look good (and do have a due date) and I sometimes request eARCs from NetGalley. I do check out diverse books from the library, but I need to stop adding all of the hyped books onto my TBR of Goodreads and Litsy and just read what I have.

3

Story books are getting to be a tiny bit more popular with my son. He loved NanoBots by Chris Gall. And he eventually warmed up to my pick of Julia’s House for Lost Creatures, which I really like. He has stated that he hates my personal picture book selection this time, though, Maple by Lori Nichols. I like it, though I’m under no illusion he’ll warm up to this one, since there are no creatures. But it’s nice for me to be able to read at least one sweet story book a week and not just non-fiction bug books.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

