Posted in 3 things, books

3 Things

1

This election has left me sad and wanting to do what I can to make the world a better place. I’m not the only one and Book Riot has had some good essays on what book lovers can do or where they can donate money. I found them helpful, so I’m going to share them here.

Bookish Ways to Fight the Good Fight “Since Tuesday, many of us are looking for more ways we can stand against racism, homophobia, xenophobia, sexism, ableism, and any other form of bigotry or lack of compassion…You can vote, write letters, volunteer for or donate to civil/human rights organizations, and much more, but if you also want to take a page out of Emma Watson’s playbook and fight back in a bookish way, here are some suggestions.”

What You Can Do: Bookish Charities You Can Donate to Right Now

“It’s been a long and ugly election. No matter who you voted for, or didn’t vote for, or voted against, the election was excruciating. The days after have been particularly miserable, and for many, it seems as though we’re descending into an age of willful ignorance. But we can do something to help. There are lots of good people out there who are putting books into the hands of children, teaching grown-ups to read, getting literature into prisons and helping deployed military personnel read to their children from overseas. We can help them do that.”

What You Can Do: 6 Volunteer Ideas for Bookish Citizens

2

I mentioned in the last 3 Things post that I need to read the books I own before I buy new ones or check out more books from the library. I plan to start doing that after I finish my current library book (The Graces by Laure Eve) and continue with it at least for the rest of this year. We’ll see how good I am at that goal, though. I’m counting current egalleys from NetGalley in “books I own” to read. Out of 3 books, I need to read at least one of those before the end of the year.

3

This week’s personal picture book pick is Red Wagon by Renata Liwska. The boy picked a lot of non-fiction animal books again. My favorite non-fiction books that he tends to pick are National Geographic books. The pictures are high quality and writing is interesting, even for adults.



Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

