Posted in book review, books, historical fiction

The Whole Town’s Talking by Fannie Flagg

When I was browsing titles on NetGalley’s website, I got excited when I saw a Fannie Flagg book was open for requests. She’s written some excellent books. This one was good, as she’s a good writer, but it’s not one of her best. I gave it a solid 3 stars on Goodreads. The book is entertaining and funny, but also flawed. The Whole Town’s Talking is about a town and its people over 100 years. And it imagines what might happen to us after we die.

The book would have been better with a tighter focus. It’s difficult to become emotionally invested in characters or their stories when they are rushed through. The stories and characters that were given more time and more pages were interesting and I enjoyed reading them. This probably would have been better for me if it had been made into a series or just focused on a much shorter time period. If you’re a fan of Fannie Flagg (as I am) or just like a book with a big cast of small town characters, then this is a good book for you.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

