Posted in 3 things, books, Uncategorized

3 Things

1

I was sick yesterday, so I’m typing and posting this today/Monday. I was thinking of skipping this week because of that, but with holidays approaching and everyone talking about best books of the year, I thought I’d use this week’s 3 Things for that.

2

I’ve read quite a few good books this year. But there are some that have stood out as something special. Miller’s Valley by Anna Quindlen was my favorite book of the year. I finished the book feeling so satisfied. My second favorite that I feel like is so buzz worthy, but getting so little to no buzz is Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera. I’ve seen a lot of people request diverse books to read and Juliet Takes a Breath is the one I can’t help, but recommend to everyone. It’s just that good.

These are the other best books of my reading year: Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill, Jam on the Vine LaShonda Katrice Barnett, Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire, Leave Me by Gayle Forman, Uprooted by Naomi Novik and Difficult Women by Roxane Gay.

3

I don’t want to leave children’s books out of best books of my reading year. Sweetest Kulu by Celina Kalluk is a sweet book for babies and toddlers. One series that I really enjoy for myself, but my son also likes is Maple and Willow by Lori Nichols. I also personally enjoyed Julia’s House for Lost Creatures by Ben Hatke and Ada Twist, Scientist by Andrea Beaty. I asked my son which story book was his favorite and mentioned some titles. His response is, “sharks”. We’ve read several shark books this year. So, I guess my son recommends reading a shark book of your choice.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

