Posted in book review, books

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney

Lillian Boxfish is an interesting woman reflecting on her life as an 84 year old woman living in New York City in the book Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk. The life she reflects on includes her move to New York City as a young woman in the 1920s and through the decades to her life as an 84 year old woman at the very end of 1984.

I enjoyed this book. I like historical fiction, as I said Lillian is an interesting character, and it involves the world of advertising. I am a big Mad Men fan. Part of the reason I really like historical fiction is that I find history to be fascinating and this book has little bits of real U.S. history mixed in, not just Lillian’s personal life. I also liked knowing Lillian Boxfish is inspired by a real woman. Though whenever I read or watch fiction based on real events or people, I’m always curious what really happened and what is pure fiction. Regardless, I recommend this book. It was a fascinating look at much of a century in New York City and the life of an ad woman.

I received an e-copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The book is scheduled to be published on January 17th, 2017.

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

