Posted in books, Uncategorized

Bookish Stuff (Week in Review)

I’m not sure when they started to become popular, but I started seeing pictures and hearing talk of book subscription boxes last year. Most of them do not seem to have diverse representation, so new subscription box businesses are starting to fill that gap. I’m all for inclusive rep. and thought I’d share the links to those subscription boxes in case you are interested. (And if you are like me and can’t afford something like that at this time, there’s still Twitter and Instagram to follow along with them and see what they offer each month for ideas on diverse reads to add to your TBR list.) This is not a sponsored post in any way.

My Lit Box: “A monthly book subscription box celebrating . | Color. Conversation. Community. | Founded & owned by   ” (Twitter bio)
Noire Book Box: “A monthly subscription box committed to diversity and inclusion, and books that reflect the world around us.” (Twitter bio)
Call Number Box: “ is a library-inspired book celebrating contemporary and .” (Twitter bio)

There are probably more diverse book box companies out there, but these are the ones I’ve been seeing discussed online. Book of the Month Club seems to have at least one book of diverse representation as part of their book selection each month, though they are not strictly for inclusive books.

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to books and blogging this year. I still love reading and think it’s important to review books, especially diverse books. But I have limited free time and I don’t get paid for blogging. I’m also not the type of person who is a natural fit for blogging either. I’m not good at the social aspect where you go visit other book blogs, leave comments, and engage in discussions on Twitter. And I’m not sure if it’s being a mother to a young child or it’s just how I naturally am regardless, but I don’t have the mental energy for long, detailed, professional-seeming reviews. And, frankly, I’m not interested in becoming a professional book blogger. I like short reviews when reading reviews from others and I like my own book reviews to be short. So, all of that to say I’m not sure how much blogging I’ll continue to do. I may continue as I am, hobbyist blogging or I’ll quit the blog entirely and stick to Goodreads and Litsy (and maybe Amazon) for my reviews. (Reminder that I’m also Bookish Shelly on Goodreads and Litsy).

Now it’s picture book time. I like picture books. They have sweet stories, great illustrations, and are quick reads. The two that I particularly enjoyed reading to my son this past week are Counting with Barefoot Critters and Giraffes Can’t DanceCounting with Barefoot Critters is my favorite counting book. It’s got a cute story of friendship and fun, though it’s a little too long for babies and many toddlers, but great for preschoolers like my son. And the illustrations are wonderful. Giraffes Can’t Dance is a cute story with a good message and apparently quite popular because we checked out a special 15 year anniversary edition from the library.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

