Posted in book review, books, historical fiction, Uncategorized

The Tumbling Turner Sisters by Juliette Fay

The Tumbling Turner Sisters become a family of vaudevillians after their father is injured and can’t work. Four sisters are acrobats, while their mother travels along as their manager. The book is a fun look at vaudeville and family drama in the 1920s.

I like historical fiction, especially around this time period in the U.S., so this book is right up my alley. The characters are well written and I cared what happened to them throughout the book. The main characters are two of the sisters, Winnie and Gert, who are also alternating narrators. The look into vaudeville was fun (while also highlighting some realistic negatives) and I appreciated seeing an author’s note explaining what was factual or based on reality. I liked how the book ended and I highly doubt the author plans to make this into a series, but I would love another book focused on all of the sisters or even just one of them.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

