Posted in book review, books, diverse books, Uncategorized

Short Fiction Weekend

This was a short fiction weekend for me. It was a nice change of pace. I have never checked out a comic book from the library before, but I saw Saga, Volume One in the library and decided to check it out. Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan, has gotten a lot of rave reviews and I can now see why. It is a fun comic book, though I only recommend it for adults. While it’s a comic of adventure, there are serious story lines within. My only complaint is there were at least two incidences of offensive dialogue.

The other short fiction of this past weekend was the award winning novella Binti by Nnedi Okorafor. I am not a huge science fiction and fantasy reader, but that appears to be another theme of this weekend. This was a fun SFF ride through space and with aliens.  The second book in the series comes out soon and I plan to read it as soon as possible. I highly recommend this one, and not just for adults. This book is great for those seeking diverse/inclusive stories as it features a black girl and by a black author.

One of my frequent complaints with books is that the story might drag in places or I just think it needed tighter editing and some parts of the book cut out entirely. The beauty of comic books and novellas are that there isn’t really space for drag or unnecessary parts.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

