Posted in book review, books, memoir

Driving Miss Norma: One Family’s Journey Saying “Yes” to Living

One day I came home to a package in front of the door, but I wasn’t expecting anything. Shelf Awareness had a giveaway for the book Driving Miss Norma and didn’t notify me I won, so it was a nice surprise. Before seeing that giveaway listing, I hadn’t known anything about Miss Norma. This book is about how, at 90 years old, Miss Norma was diagnosed with cancer. Rather than undergo surgery, chemo, and other medical interventions, she chose to go on an epic road trip with her son (who has a nomadic lifestyle with his wife).

This book is inspiring. Miss Norma had rarely been outside of her home area before she was 90 years old. But not everyone is going to live to 90 and have the chance she did of this epic road trip. So, it makes you think that you should take the adventures (or whatever is on your heart) now. I’m risk adverse. For too much of my life I’ve let fear make decisions for me. There have been some moments of (possibly ill advised) bravery that for the most part gave me some big blessings. That makes me take this to heart particularly.

Also, I just love memoirs, yet I read them so rarely lately. There is something wonderful about reading about other people’s true personal stories (though I prefer they not be particularly dark like memoirs of women who’ve been sex slave kidnap victims/survivors). I’m very interested in people in general and this book reminds me that I really should read more memoirs.

Yes, I did win this book, but I’m not going to lie and say I like a book even if I did get it for free. I just really enjoyed this book. It’s not all sunshine and roses, since the woman is having this road trip due to a cancer diagnosis, but it was an enjoyable read. My only complaint is that there were no photographs and hopefully the final copy of the book (since I had an ARC) will have some, especially since one of the co-authors mentions that she took a lot of photos during the journey.

According to Goodreads, this book will be released in the U.S. on May 2nd.

Author:

I'm a SAHM and bibliophile.

Leave a Reply

